DIY Window Treatments – fabric strip valance

fabric strip valance cck

Window treatments are something I really struggle with at our house.   I am always looking for something more personal and more my style than what I can afford off the shelf at the local stores.  I like some of the custom order items available but they are not in the budget!   I love roman shades in various fabrics but they too are expensive and often lack style.

I’m always looking for a new option that is affordable and if possible,  easy enough to make myself.   I sew…but my skills are pretty amateur.  I can usually do the job for myself or simple projects for others but taking on a window treatment is a bit more than I usually want to tackle.  That’s why this easy, no sew valance is so appealing to me.   Well that and the fact that I love the simplicity and the light airy look!

Check out the full instructions and step by step photos to make your own at www.premeditatedleftovers.com

Or click here for the direct link.

While you’re there, make sure to spend some time checking out the rest of Alea’s blog for lots of great tips and ideas for frugal living!

2 thoughts on “DIY Window Treatments – fabric strip valance

  1. I have some fabric that’s just sitting around (and I don’t know what to do with it), so I think I may make something like this for my daughter’s room. Thanks for the link to the tutorial!

  2. You’re welcome. Let me know how it turns out! There are some great fabrics out there and some of our local stores carry packages of pre-cut coordinating fabrics and patterns that would be perfect for this. I’d love to make a long version!

Leave a Reply

