St. Patrick’s Day Treats

As I mentioned in another post, St. Patrick’s Day may be one of my favorite holidays.  Growing up (and certainly through college) it was the very best birthday to have!  Everyone, Irish or not, loves to celebrate and I have some really great memories through the years.  I remember my 4th Grade teacher (he was my 5th grade teacher as well) always wore a dark green suit for St. Patrick’s Day And one year he bent over to grab something and his pants ripped in front of the whole class.  Imagine the giggles from a classroom full of 10 year olds!  As a teenager, my brother in law would always give me a bag full of green gifts.  They were always the most random things he could find – a bag of green Jolly Ranchers, a bottle of green sports drink, a “Kiss me!  I’m not Irish, I just like to kiss” t-shirt, and so many other fun things.  When I turned 21 (in a college town) everyone I knew wanted to celebrate…for days before and after and while that was fun, the best part of that birthday was one of my best friends from high school flying in from Georgia to celebrate for the weekend.  Another birthday, somewhere in my late 20’s, while out celebrating I received a surprise phone call from a friend who was preparing to deploy to Iraq.  Little did I know when I got that call, that friend would become my husband a year and a half later.  So many special memories…

Because St. Patrick’s Day is my birthday, as a kid, I always got to bring a really cool birthday treat for school.  It was fun making treats with my mom and my kids and I love to just the same.  None of their birthdays are St. Patty’s Day but we like to make and share treats with their classmates anyway.  This year I was looking for something fun and unique and I just spotted this really great idea on a blog I love.  We will for sure make them!

image

Head on over to themommynest.com to see how easy they are to make!  Or simply click on the picture and it will take you right to the tutorial!  Make sure to take some time checking out the rest of the blog while you’re there.

Do you have a favorite St. Patrick’s Day treat?  I’d love to hear about it!

I love making cakes and this past weekend I was asked to make a St. Patrick’s themed cake.  Since it was so close to Mardi Gras, I decided to add a few elements of that too!

image

Share your love of St. Patrick’s Day with me!

Leave a Reply

