Gluten Free Asparagus & Egg Breakfast Quesadilla

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

I am really not a big fan of breakfast.  My husband and I cook a big family breakfast every Sunday but during the week I often do not eat breakfast.  This week however, I am working to eliminate gluten from my diet or to at least reduce the amount of gluten I consume.  I’ve started making myself a “brunch” meal this week rather than breakfast and lunch since I’m not big on eating first thing in the morning.

Today I experimented with asparagus I had on hand and corn tortillas (which I’m teaching myself to like).  I absolutely LOVED the result!

Ingredients:

  • fresh asparagus
  • 6″ corn tortillas
  • provolone cheese
  • eggs
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper to taste and other seasonings to preference
  • green salsa

Instructions:

In a medium skillet, saute the asparagus in olive oil and seasonings (2 asparagus per 1 tortilla quesadilla)

Over medium heat, season and scramble egg (1 egg per quesadilla)

Begin to brown the corn tortillas in a heated skillet.  Add 1 slice of provolone cheese to each tortilla and top with the asparagus and egg.

 

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Fold the tortillas over and flip to brown both sides, heating until cheese is melted.

Top with green salsa and serve hot!

These quesadillas were packed with flavor and texture.  They made a perfect gluten free brunch!  I hope you’ll try them and let me know what you think.

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Asparagus & Egg Breakfast Quesadilla

Leave a Reply

